top of page

TOP 5 things to do in AMIENS

The perfect day to discover the city

Cathedral

Unmissable monument, it is a masterpiece of Flamboyant Gothic. The Cathedral celebrated its 800th anniversary in 2020 and deserves a good hour.

 

Start by admiring its facade and its portals and approach to contemplate the tympanum and its many sculptures. We then advise you to take a full tour of it in order to understand its architecture: the buttresses which form a forest of pikes and turrets, the numerous gargoyles that surround the building, ...

 

Discover the side portal and the neckless statues that adorn the door. Then go behind the cathedral to enter the bishop's garden, a haven of peace and greenery from where you can take sumptuous photos. Then come back to the square, passing by the medieval garden.

 

Finally, enter the building to appreciate its incredible dimensions which make it the 'biggest' cathedral in France. The volumes are incomparable. Gaze at the labyrinth-shaped floor, the symbolism of which represents a seemingly simple path to its goal but which involves doing the entire route before reaching the center.

 

Among the many things to discover in the heart, do not forget to take a look at the weeping angel, a symbol of the great war as published on many postcards, and the head (skull) of Saint John the Baptist, who was the ultimate relic for many pilgrimages to medieval times. The hole above the eye would be the proof that this skull is really that of Saint John the Baptist. For esoteric enthusiasts note that the rose window of the South portal consists of a five-pointed star pointing down!

 

Many other mysteries are to be discovered during your walk.

Hours: every day from 8:30 a.m. to 5:15 p.m.

Free

Possibility of climbing the bell tower and discovering an incomparable panorama of the city (paying).

 

Hortillonnages

Incredible place if there is one; these are marshes that were transformed into plots of individual pleasure gardens. Formerly these plots were used for cultivation because the yield was 3 times higher than normal land. Today we discover a unique, calm, and natural landscape, in which we enter by boat and where we let ourselves sail between the gardens sometimes completely enveloped in a green jungle sometimes in a refined personal garden where the touches of color are carefully chosen. There you will still find a few market gardeners who practice permaculture and mischievous gardeners who compete in their imagination to make their land attractive.

We advise you to discover the Hortillonnages either:

 

Guided boat tour with a guide at the Maison de Hortillonnages

The walk lasts about 45 min. Allow 1 hour of waiting.

Address ; 54 Boulevard de Beauvillé, 80000 Amiens

Opening hours; Every day from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Price: 12 € per person

Self-guided tour with a boat rental. You are given a map of the area to discover and you sail from island to island, discovering contemporary works of art that adorn certain islands.

Address; Manure port 35 Rue Roger Allou

Opening; In summer only, Every day from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Allow 3 hours of boat trip.

Price: 49 € per boat

The Saint-Leu district

If there is a typical district of Amiens, it is that of Saint-Leu! It takes its name from the Church of Saint-Leu which stands in its center.

Stroll between the canals and alleys from Rue Saint-Leu or Rue du Dodane. Red brick houses, half-timbered houses of all colors, working-class and dynamic districts, it is the favorite district for students because many faculties are established there as well as emblematic bars. The Saint-Leu district backs onto the Parc Saint Pierre. Park which deserves a walk because of its location and its landscapes around the lake with the added bonus of a superb view of the cathedral. The Amiens gladly escape the city center to find a little greenery. Come back to calm by the Aristide Briand Park. We then advise you to go to Quai Belu which also offers a breathtaking view of the Cathedral and has around fifteen restaurants. Perfect for dinner on a summer evening.

 

Downtown

Walking through the city center, you will be able to discover most of the monuments of Amiens, for example the merchant street of Trois-Cailloux, the station and its unique glass roof, the Perret Tower, emblematic of the architectural style of the 1950s, the main squares of Amiens, the shirtless Marie clock, the courthouse, the town hall, the belfry, ...

You can taste local specialties, such as the famous Amiens macaroons at Jean Trogneux or the beaten cake for example.

To explore the city more in-depth, along the rue des 3 cailloux, you can take the passage du Logis du Roi to discover the King's residence when he lived in Amiens, the sumptuous storefront of the adjoining Sagittarius House and the Square Jules Bocquet, which offers a superb view of the Cathedral and the courthouse.

Behind the town hall stands the Belfry of Amiens, more than 600 years old and which has passed through the ages with different functions. Approach the door to discover two small anachronistic sculptures of the mayors of the town in the 90s. You can visit this one! So check with the tourist office for the dates of the guided tours.

 

Consult the site : http://www.amiens-tourisme.com/

The Chroma show

In summer or in December, end your day with an exceptional outdoor show. Lasting about 30 minutes, at nightfall, Chroma tells the story of the cathedral by projecting poetic and symbolic paintings on its facade. This sound and light will take you to a world apart. At the end of the show, a tour guide usually presents the portals of the cathedral and the polychromies that could be seen during medieval times.

 

Meet on the cathedral square.

Hours:

10:30 p.m. in July,

10 p.m. in August,

9:45 p.m. in September

7 p.m. in December

Free

IMG_3016 2.jpg

TREASURE HUNT

Discover the city center of Amiens in a fun way with a treasure hunt for all public

photo JV parc parent flo.jpg

SCAVENGER HUNT

Explore the neighborhood where Jules Verne lived with a thrilling treasure hunt

bottom of page

TOP 5 des choses à voir et à faire à AMIENS

La journée parfaite pour découvrir la capitale Picarde

 

La Cathédrale

Monument incontournable, c’est un chef d’œuvre du gothique flamboyant. La cathédrale a fêté ses 800 ans en 2020 et mérite que l’on s’y attarde une bonne heure.

 

Commencez par admirer sa façade et ses portails et approchez-vous pour contempler le tympan et ses nombreuses sculptures. Nous vous conseillons ensuite d’en faire le tour complet afin d’en comprendre l’architecture : les contreforts qui forment une forêt de piques et tourelles, les nombreuses gargouilles qui entourent le bâtiment, ...

 

Découvrez le portail latéral et les statues sans cou qui ornent la porte. Puis passez à l’arrière de la cathédrale pour pénétrer dans le jardin de l’évêché, un havre de paix et de verdure d’où vous pourrez faire de somptueuses photos. Revenez ensuite vers le parvis en passant à coté du jardin médiéval.

 

Pénétrez enfin dans l’édifice pour en apprécier les dimensions incroyables qui en font la plus ‘grosse’ cathédrale de France. Les volumes y sont incomparables. Contemplez le sol en forme de labyrinthe dont le symbolisme représente un chemin apparemment simple vers son but mais qui implique de faire le parcours complet avant d’arriver au centre.

 

Parmi les nombreuses choses à découvrir dans le cœur, n’oubliez pas de jeter un œil sur l’ange pleureur, symbole de la grande guerre car publié sur de nombreuses cartes postales et le chef (crâne) de Saint Jean Baptiste, qui été la relique ultime pour de nombreux pèlerinages à l’époque médiévale. Le trou au-dessus de l’œil serait la preuve que ce crâne est réellement celui de Saint Jean-Baptiste. Pour les férus d’ésotérisme remarquez que la rosace du portail Sud se compose d’une étoile à cinq branches pointant vers le bas !

 

Plein d’autres mystères sont à découvrir lors de votre ballade. 

Horaires: tous les jours de 8h30 à 17h15

Gratuit

Possibilité de faire l’ascension de la tour du clocher et de découvrir un panorama de la ville incomparable (payant).

 

Les Hortillonnages

Lieu incroyable s’il en est ; il s’agit de marais qui furent transformés en parcelles de jardin d’agrément individuel. Anciennement ces parcelles étaient utilisées pour la culture car le rendement y était 3 fois supérieur à un terrain normal. On y découvre aujourd’hui un paysage unique, calme et naturel, dans lequel on pénètre en barque et où l’on se laisse voguer entre les jardins tantôt complétement enveloppés dans une jungle verdoyante tantôt dans un jardin personnel raffiné où les touches de couleurs sont soigneusement choisies. Vous y trouverez encore quelques maraîchers qui font de la permaculture et des jardiniers facétieux qui rivalisent d’imagination pour rendre leurs terrains attractifs.

Nous vous conseillons de découvrir les Hortillonnages soit :

 

Visite guidée en barque avec un guide à la Maison de hortillonnages

La ballade dure environ 45 min. Prévoyez 1h d’attente.

Addresse; 54 Boulevard de Beauvillé, 80000 Amiens

Horaires ; Tous les jours de 9h à 17h

Prix: 12€ par personne

Visite autonome avec une location de barque. On vous remet une carte de la zone à découvrir et vous voguez d’île en île en découvrant des œuvres d’art contemporaines qui ornent certaines iles.

Addresse; Port à Fumier 35 Rue Roger Allou

Ouverture ; En été seulement, Tous les jours de 9h à 17h

Comptez 3h de ballade en barque.​

Prix: 49€ par barque

Le quartier Saint Leu

S’il est un quartier typique d’Amiens, c’est bien celui de Saint Leu ! Il tire son nom de l’Eglise Saint Leu qui se dresse en son centre.

Baladez-vous entre les canaux et ruelles à partir de la rue Saint-Leu ou de la Rue du Dodane. Maisons en briques rouges, colombages et de toutes les couleurs, quartiers populaires et dynamiques, c’est le quartier de prédilection des étudiants car de nombreuses facultés y sont établies ainsi que des bars emblématiques. Le quartier Saint-Leu est adossé au Parc Saint Pierre. Parc qui mérite une ballade de part son emplacement et ses paysages autour du lac avec en prime une superbe vue sur la cathédrale. Les Amiénois s’échappent volontiers du centre-ville pour y trouver un peu de verdure. Revenez au calme par le Parc Aristide Briand. Nous vous conseillons ensuite de rejoindre le Quai Belu qui offre également une vue imprenable sur la Cathédrale et aligne une quinzaine de restaurants. Parfait pour dîner un soir d’été.

 

Le Centre-Ville

En parcourant le centre-ville, vous pourrez découvrir la plupart des monuments d’Amiens, comme par exemple : la rue marchande des trois-cailloux, la gare et sa verrière unique, la Tour Perret, emblématique du style architectural des années 50, les places principales d’Amiens, l’horloge Marie sans chemise, le palais de justice, l’hôtel de ville, le beffroi, …

Vous pourrez déguster des spécialités locales, comme les fameux macarons d’Amiens chez Jean Trogneux ou bien le gâteau battu par exemple.

Pour découvrir la ville plus en profondeur, en longeant la rue des 3 cailloux vous pouvez emprunter le passage du Logis du roi pour découvrir la résidence du Roi lorsqu’il habitait à Amiens, la somptueuse devanture de la maison du sagittaire attenante et le Square Jules Bocquet, qui offre une superbe vue sur la Cathédrale et le palais de justice.

Derrière l’hôtel de ville se dresse le Beffroi d’Amiens, vieux de plus de 600 ans et qui a traversé les âges avec différentes fonctions. Approchez vous de la porte pour y découvrir deux petites sculptures anachroniques des maires de la commune dans les années 90. Celui-ci se visite! Alors renseignez-vous auprès de l’office du tourisme pour connaitre les dates des visites guidées.

 

Consulter le site : http://www.amiens-tourisme.com/

Le spectacle Chroma

En été ou au mois de décembre, terminez votre journée avec un spectacle exceptionnel en plein air. D’une durée d’environ 30 minutes, à la tombée de la nuit, Chroma raconte l’histoire de la cathédrale en projetant des tableaux poétiques et symboliques sur sa façade. Ce son et lumière vous emportera dans un monde à part. A la fin du show, un guide conférencier présente généralement les portails de la cathédrale et les polychromies que l’on pouvait voir lors de l’époque médiévale.

  

Rendez-vous sur le parvis de la cathédrale.

Horaires:

22h30 en juillet,

22h en août,

21h45 en septembre

19h en décembre

Gratuit

CHASSE AU TRESOR

Découvrez le centre-ville d'Amiens de manière ludique avec une chasse au trésor tous public

JEU DE PISTE

Explorez le quartier ou à vécu Jules Verne avec un jeu de piste palpitant

2021 - Enigmamiens  

Appelez-nous au 06 26 98 30 38